Meet the Team

Error message

  • Notice: Only variables should be passed by reference in field_landing_page_for_term() (line 60 of /var/www/science-and-education/Expeditions-website/drupal/sites/all/modules/field_museum_util/field_museum_util.module).
  • Notice: Only variables should be passed by reference in custom_menu_field_block_block_view() (line 23 of /var/www/science-and-education/Expeditions-website/drupal/sites/all/modules/custom_menu_field_block/custom_menu_field_block.module).
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in expeditions_page_alter() (line 198 of /var/www/science-and-education/Expeditions-website/drupal/sites/all/themes/expeditions/template.php).
East Antarctica

The Tawani International Expedition team of American, Russian, and Swiss scientists are members of the Russian Antarctic Expedition and as such, will have official status under the Russian program of science in Antarctica. The RAE will provide necessary permits for conducting research in Antarctica, consistent with Antarctic Treaty Requirements (personal communication, Valery Lukin, Director, RAE). Marty Kress, the Executive Director of the Von Braun Center for Science & Innovation (VCSI) in Huntsville, AL will act as the principle interface between the Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI), ACLI (the logistics provider for the RAE) and the National Science Foundation Office of Polar Programs.

Philipp R. Heck
Ashit K. Swain
Dale Andersen

Alfonso Davila
Valery Galchenko
Vladimir Akimov
Michael Becker

This site and the research presented in it are supported by the Tawani Foundation,
the Robert A. Pritzker Center for Meteoritics and Polar Studies
(Polar Expedition Fund), and the Trottier Family Foundation.

Philipp Heck would also like to thank the National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR) and the Geological Survey of India (GSI) for their support, as well as the station leaders Mr. Uttam Chand and Mr. P.S. Negi, and the members of the 31st and 32nd Indian Scientific Expeditions to Antarctica for their hospitality at Maitri station.